Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think many of you know me and that I have been repairing engines for 30+ years. For almost all of the major makes, Detroit, Perkins, Mitsubishi, Kubota, etc. I order parts by phone or on line and they are delivered to my shop by UPS or FedEx in a day or two.

Well, MR. )&&^%# Yanmar requires me to buy from their local "stocking dealer". This always takes at least a week and I must go pick them up. Time is money and I am a one man operation.

So, I am not accepting anymore Yanmar work! I will maintain my good old Yanmar 5KW genset, (6,500 hours - no probs) and my 3TNA dredge pump, but nobody elses.

Old Grouch Tom

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Well, I would have to tell you that I didn't like the fact I had to buy from the "stocking dealer" aka Brown's because they never had anything in stock when I needed it. The good thing was that in 1000 hours and 3 years, we only need about 3 parts and those were rusted items that got saltwater on them when a surge pipe cracked and was dripping on the shaft being slung around the engine room.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I needed an injector for my Yanmar-powered genset a couple of years ago.

One injector.

It took three weeks to come in.

Screw that. Never again.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
My last Yanmar parts order finally came in after ten days!

Called a buddy in NY, who is also a boat repair person, he says he can ship me Yanmar parts in a few days at distributor prices.

Damn that's okay for a yankee and a hell of a lot better than "Ding Dong"

Call me if you need parts. No more work for a while as I get a hip replacement Tuesday.

Soon to be, "Bionic Tom"

·
Registered
60 Posts
off route II (11/12/2007)you think thats bad, try dealing with MAN