Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to surf fishing and i was wondering when pompano would run or what temperatures would be right to go out Is there a good spot around fort pickens i can fish around? Thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
I like the entrance right there to Fort Pickens also known as Chicken Bone. I like it on colder days, there is not as much of a sand bar there so you can cast past the breakers without having to get out in the water. Especially at low tide.

I have noticed that pompano, unlike other surf species, tend to run on relatively calmer days, I judge them as yellow flag days. When the water is cool and the air is warm is when you'll see pomps. Thanksgiving into early December was hot for me. There'll be another big run in April/May.

Hope this helps a bit.

Dan

·
Registered
829 Posts
yeah...from what i heard....calmer isnt always better. I have been out with jason (j_purdy) and he knows his water...and seems likes he has had better luck on the "sh*tty" days. As for my opinion...i have no idea...im learning as well. Finally landed my first 2 days ago thanks to him. Ask him and see what he says

·
Registered
129 Posts
i have heard that to , but i have caught them when its slick as glass and i have also caught them when its rough

soo its just a matter of using the right tackle and being at the right place at the right time

·
Registered
277 Posts
Pompano will be in the surf year-round. In the summer you tend to not catch as many because you lose baits to everything else before a pomp finds your hook. As far as temps go, to me when the water reaches the mid to upper 60s in the Spring the run is starting. For the Fall, after the first good cold front or a couple of week ones the lesser Fall run kicks off. No matter the the season, find good areas in the surf, use fresh bait, and you'll catch some fish. Tight lines.

-Jason

·
Registered
503 Posts