Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Esteemed Member
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I was given this old boat.

It has a 1999 Mercury 30hp outboard, and no holes in the hull. I was told that the motor ran good before it was parked, sometime over 2 years ago. I'm willing to take on the challenge of bringing it back to sea worthy form, but I'm not sure what to do about the hull. First I'm going to strip it down, taking everything out, and pressure washing it. After that, I am going to try to get motor running, cause if the motor is shot, I'm just going to get rid of the whole thing. So where should I start on trying to get the motor running. Is there any reference material on how to tune up this outboard? I'm very mechanically inclined, but not informed so much on outboards. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
8,430 Posts
I am by no means a mechanic and don't claim to know much about motors but seems like the first thing people do when trying to start outboards that haven't been started in a while is squirt oil in the spark plug holes. Just from what I've read.
You also might try starting fluid in the carb.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
First, drain and replace all fluids. Replace all hoses and try to get all the old gas out of the engine. Make SURE everything is lubricated. Replace the spark plugs. While old ones are out slowly spin the engine a time or 2 (this is when you can spray a little light oil in the cylinders), then see what happens with new gas and a fresh battery

·
Registered
9,889 Posts
First thing to check is the hull those mc kee are known to have bad transoms and soft spots in the decks. Check the transom first. Then if its solid the rest can be easily repaired.

·
Registered
3,948 Posts
First thing to check is the hull those mc kee are known to have bad transoms and soft spots in the decks. Check the transom first. Then if its solid the rest can be easily repaired.