Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In an effort to reduce traffic on VHF channel 16 I have invested in an automated radio check system. The system operates on VHF channel 27. It is very simple to use. Simply turn your radio to channel 27, whatever you transmitt will be repeated back to you. I put this on a tower just east off Navarre, its not very tall so everyone may not be able to use it. But if it gets enough use I will raise it. This is in the early stages and I am still learning the system. Try it out and let me know what you think. Thanks Capt John

www.seatow.com

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
I will definitely give it a try tomorrow. I tried last Saturday to do a radio check on Ch. 67 & 68 but got no replies. I was stuck in the middle of the sound near the Ft. Pickins gate.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
I'll try it next time I'm out. I usually reply to one or two radio checks to be sure mine is working (usually get that many requests before I leave the dock).

Just a note, thanks to Sea Tow and others for standing by and replying to the other legitimate requests for a check. Thanks for putting up the experimental system.

·
Registered
6,297 Posts
Bump. Is this still in service? Anyone try it?
Yep, tried last month when I put my new ant. on.
Xmit and you will hear a little spill from seatow then your voice is repeated. Pretty cool.

Thanks for setting that up. I think channel 28 or 29 is in mobile if you want to test you distant out on the water.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
I've used it from downtown Pcola well out into the Gulf. Works great, eliminates the need to tie up 16, and lets you hear what you actually sound like. Knowing where it is also lets you know how well you are getting out over distance. Thanks, Capt. John, for putting a truly useful service out there. Now, the rest of you, USE IT, and get off 16.
=8^) }}

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·