Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3,261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yep, my buddy Mike hooked me up with a sweet PSE bow. I'm very new to all of this. I shot a bow for the first time just a week or so ago at a buddy's house. My grouping was about the size of a softball but I was pretty close. Maybe 30 feet. So I need some pointers. I know to take deep breaths and hold just before shooting.Any other tips or equipment that will help? I have a stabalizer bar, silincers on the string, fiber optic sights, and a release trigger. I want to get a peep sight and maybe have the draw shortened a little. I'm not sure if I'll get a chance to hunt this year, but come next season I hope to share a story or two.

·
Registered
2,079 Posts
Good for you man, I switched to PSE this year, used of course. Do you have an arrow rest or wisker biscuit? Get one of the two, that will help tremendously. Oh yeah, take a look at the display models before you chose a peep site, some a better than others and most are inexpensive and can be installed in less than 10 mins at any archery store.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
Go to a bow shop like Outcasts or Mikes. The bow needs to be fitted toyou, and they will need to put it in abow pressto add silencers and a peep (a must have item).

·
Registered
7,405 Posts
konz (11/4/2008)Yep, my buddy Mike hooked me up with a sweet PSE bow. I'm very new to all of this. I shot a bow for the first time just a week or so ago at a buddy's house. My grouping was about the size of a softball but I was pretty close. Maybe 30 feet. So I need some pointers. I know to take deep breaths and hold just before shooting.Any other tips or equipment that will help? I have a stabalizer bar, silincers on the string, fiber optic sights, and a release trigger. I want to get a peep sight and maybe have the draw shortened a little. I'm not sure if I'll get a chance to hunt this year, but come next season I hope to share a story or two.