Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to PFF so if this has been discussed please forgive me. I have a 2009 Glacier Bay Catamaran 26'. When I bought the boat, it had a Simrad Evo3 12" with a transom mounted transducer. The sonar does not read really well at any speeds past 2-3 mph and I'm thinking its because of the transducer placement on the transom. Again, this is a 26' Glacier Bay Cat and was wondering if anyone else has/had a glacier bay or cat that could give any recommendations concerning what the best location to mount it? We would like to be running 15-17 mph and still get a good enough reading to see structure if we run over some. Its currently mounted on the starboard pontoon. I appreciate any advice/ recommendations.

·
Registered
9,582 Posts
Call and ask the Manufacture of the boat.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I have a 2008 Glacier Bay 2670. There is a "pocket" in the starboard (I think) hull just forward of the engine that you can hollow out to put a thru hull or shoot-thru transducer. This pocket is covered with gelcoat and filled with foam from the factory and is designed for a transducer. I have a shoot-thru and it works well at all speeds (Garmin 4212 MFD, transducer is an Airmar P79). Lots of info on the Glacier Bay facebook group.

Hope this helps

·
Registered
167 Posts
Divefins has it correct.

The manufacturer, World Cat group, has been limited help on some of these questions regarding the hulls built before World Cat bought them. A number of the folks you talk with are fairly new and just don't have the information, although, they try.

The old world cat folks were terrific with almost any question about their boats. Good luck. That is a great boat.

·
Registered
741 Posts