Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to this yak fishing thing and wanted to know what’s “too windy” to be out on the water and does wind direction play a difference. I’m looking at days to go out and it’s like 17-25 mph winds. I’ll be going out alone so don’t wanna risk it if it’s gonna be super choppy

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,232 Posts
Just because it is the weekend, you don't "Have to go."

Fishing is supposed to be fun. Wind makes yakin' less fun and more dangerous. I've probably said this a thousand times: "It is a lot better to sit on the hill, wishing you were out fishing than to be out fishing, wishing you were on the hill." You can substitute safer for better in the above phrase.

Fish safe water in safe conditions until you become confident in your ability. Leave the tackle and everything else on the bank while you practice flipping the yak and re-entry.

Don't leave anything to luck. Sometimes luck just ain't there for you. I'll post an article/tip on the Boating and Fishing Tip board that might give you some pointers.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fishing is supposed to be fun. Wind makes yakin' less fun and more dangerous. I've probably said this a thousand times: "It is a lot better to sit on the hill, wishing you were out fishing than to be out fishing, wishing you were on the hill." You can substitute safer for better in the above phrase.

Fish safe water in safe conditions until you become confident in your ability. Leave the tackle and everything else on the bank while you practice flipping the yak and re-entry.

Don't leave anything to luck. Sometimes luck just ain't there for you. I'll post an article/tip on the Boating and Fishing Tip board that might give you some pointers.

Thanks man. Yea being a novice I pretty much look for super calm days to go out which just so happen to usually be when I’m at work lol

·
Registered
400 Posts