Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to fishing. As far as I get Swivels are used so that the line doesn't get twisted when using twister baits and Interlock Snaps are used to quickly change different baits/lures.

Three Questions:

1. Am I correct and is there anything else I should know (positive) about the two?

2. Is there any negative downsides to using one of the above mentioned or both at the same time?

3. How do I choose the right one based on the fishing line I will use. For example I'll use a 8 lb test fishing line. Does it mean I will have to find #8 Swivels/Locks, or they don't come in numbers or lb testings?

Thanks!

Ervand

·
Squid technician
10,484 Posts
You should always avoid snaps when unnecessary as they are bulky and more easily spotted by fish. Cheap ones are also known for opening under pressure resulting in lost fish. If you are going to get snaps then get the coastlock style not interlock, they are far more reliable. When trolling however most offshore fishermen including myself always use snaps to connect lures which will be changed frequently during the day. For this you should get the higher quality ball bearing swivels like those made by Sampo, Momoi, Billfisher and others. These are expensive but well worth it.

·
Registered
4,124 Posts
keep your tackle as light as possible

swivels are also used to tie a leader to your line

use a fluorocarbon leader unless your target has teeth

·
Registered
4,226 Posts
Swivels are supposed to prevent line twist. In a perfect world, they would eliminate twist 100%. Unfortunately, the tiniest bit of crud in the best of swivels can drastically reduce their effectiveness or even prevent any swivel action. Your best bet is to learn how to rig your baits to where twist is eliminated. That is not always easy. I have a terrible time with swim baits and twister tails but I keep trying.