Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm a rookie when it comes to surf fishing and I am curious to see if anyone could help me out on some good spots. I mainly try to go out for pompano but the 4 times I have had zero luck on catching anything. I've been tossing sand fleas and shrimp all behind the sand bars. Any information would be greatly appreciated
-Aaron

·
Registered
18 Posts
What kind of gear are you using? When I go I like to use at least a 12' rod with either a good conventianal or a mitchel 402 or penn 706. I personaly like the Fort Pickens area. Not as crowded as free public beaches.

·
26' blue sea hunt
494 Posts
we went sunday and got a few pomps. the guys next to me were just killing it though with the pomps. They taught me somethings I am gonna try next time. First it seems the pomps are a little further offshore right now. I think mentioned in another thread i read on here. so we were walking out to the first sand bar and then casting as far as we could. I use two 15' surf rods and two 12' surf rods. Still had to walk out to first bar. light weight tackle. I switched to 8 and 10 lb test with 2oz and 3oz weights and 2/0 circle hooks. When i did this and using sand fleas that were alive not frozen, we started catching them. Hope you figure it out because they are fun to catch and GREAT eating!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4