Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like I said in my thread two posts down, I am new to ths game...heck my boat is on my credit card but I have not seen it yet. So bare win me as I try to learn...

If...IF I happen to catch a king, spanish, or a mahi (ok lets not get carried away)...So stick with a king or spaniard

1) how do I kill it? or do I?
2) how do you store it to keep on fishing? Big cooler??

I will be fishing from a Jackson Big Tuna if anyone has a recomendation.

Forgive me...I am the slow kid for now.

·
Registered
5,602 Posts
King? Well I just just throw them back, not worth eating IMO.

Spanish? Same, I throw them back too but IF I keep one or two I bring a cooler with me and they fit in there pretty easily. My thirty inch mahi fit in there easily too.

They also make insulated fish bags, if you are serious about keeping fish and you dont have room for a cooler, you should probably check them out.

I fish light tackle so kings are generally dead by the time I get them up, if they are hooked where I can easily remove it, I leave them in the water and dehook. If you take them out, a kings chance of survival is pretty small.

Spanish, if I decide to keep one, gets slammed up against the kayak until dead.

Mahi, watch out. They DONT give up. Do not bring a green mahi in the kayak no matter how small or youll regret it.

·
PrettyAwesomeWhiteGuy
1,503 Posts
If I catch something worth keeping(big king, cobia or big mahi), I'll bring it back to van(big cooler in back) and relaunch to catch more. I rarely fish more than 2 miles offshore, so its easy to run it back in and head back out.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Wirelessly posted