Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to surf shark fishing and have read post after post and this is what I have come up with:

Target:
Sharks 3' - 6'

Rig:
(2) Penn Fierce 8000 Spin Reels, 12' Diawa Beef Stick, with 400 yards of 80lb braid

Leaders:
14/0 Super Mutu circle hook, 3' of 175lb 49 strand wire, 5' of 150lb mon, 150lb barrel swivel, and a 4 oz spider sinker

12/0 Super Mutu circle hook, 3' of 175lb 49 strand wire, 5' of 150lb mon, 150lb barrel swivel, and a 4 oz spider sinker

Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

·
Registered
82 Posts
Personally I would use heavy duty 18/0 circle, 10 ft 170 seven stand with 175 200 lb swivel, a good 60-80 braided power pro, if you just fishing for a eating shark, but if fishing to catch big one need to up size equipment !!!!

·
Registered
272 Posts
Right now I don't desire to catch a 'big' shark. I have beached some 4' blacktips and faught a big nurse (250 lbs ish) for 3.5 hours.

Since I am casting, I used 20 lb mono on my 6500 abu garcia on heavy action bass rod. I tied a 40 lb steel leader and a 7 alt circle hook.

My setup was more than a enough for the 4 footish blacktips. The nurse was on a tourist special and 12 lb line and broke me off as i was trying to beach it. The real was shot when i was done

If you are casting you can catch lots of sharks with a decently light setup which is what I enjoy.

·
Registered
108 Posts