Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an older46 ft Hatteras Sportfisher that I have been refurbishing for several years. I just recently made a few short trips and believe I am ready to make a rig run out of Perdido Pass. The boat is slow (15 knts) so I know it will be a long ride. My question is for this type boat what sea conditions can I handle with reasonable comfort? I would also ask what concerns should I have when planning a three day trip?

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Depends on the crew! 3 to 4 footers for a 3 day trip should be no problem on that boat. Planing ahead is the main thing to do and make sure you have back-up plans if your "on-deck" crew turns green. You will want to have one or two people up at all times during the night to keep an eye on things. Nighttime is when most people will get sick, especially on the 2nd night after not much sleep.

If you have gone over the boat very well, you don't need to worry much about it! Making sure you have enough fuel to stay out for 3 days would be the biggest concern! Take into consideration that you may have to hold up all night with the motors in gear if the weather turn foul! You will not want to be tied up to a buoy or have a sea anchor out if it chops up. Heading into the seas will be the best bet and it will make for a long night for everyone onboard, not just the person at the helm but will make it easier for some to get some rest if you are powered up into the swells.

15 knots is a great speed to move out at! Drop a few Wahoo lures out back and everyone can chill out until you get where you are going. It also makes a great speed to be able to rig while running... something that takes a bit more skill at 30 knots!