Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year saltwater fishing, and it seems like I am never prepared for what happens. I was on my Jetski fishing the 3 mile bridge. Cut Minheaden on 1 pole and red jig white gulp on my brand new stradic 4000. I got what I thought was a hit on it, I pulled up and got about two reels in and the fish takes off. 100 yards of line was gone like that. I paniced, I should have unhooked my jetski and chased it down, but instead I tightened the drag and it broke... duh.. Of course it couldnt have taken the bait on my rod set up to handle a fish like that.

·
Registered
848 Posts
That's fishing for ya. You'll get better the more you fish. And some advice, It seems like the hardest thing, but try not to get over "excited" when you get a bite, that's how a lot of injuries happen by not thinking. We live and learn, sorry for what happen better luck next time!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Relax you will get the hang of it. But I am damn tired of feeding fish those Mirrodyne 17MR baits. Grrr don't use a leader and something with teethes takes it every time. Use a leader no bites!!

Allen

·
Topwater Addict
487 Posts
Fishing with the expensive lures does hurt when you get broken off. I just let them run and always keep a spool of line with me in my box. Worst case is he takes all the line and I don't catch him and I have to respool, which I do pretty regularly anyways as maintenance. Best case he gets tired and I can manage him and much easier boat side to handle a tired fish.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Fishing with the expensive lures does hurt when you get broken off. I just let them run and always keep a spool of line with me in my box. Worst case is he takes all the line and I don't catch him and I have to respool, which I do pretty regularly anyways as maintenance. Best case he gets tired and I can manage him and much easier boat side to handle a tired fish.