Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm new to the fishing scene down here and just got my kayak and now I need help with rod / reel setup. What I'm looking for

1. Decent quality - doesn't have to be highest quality ever, but no junk.

2. Reliable - I want to use it more than 1 season

3. Able to hold a decent amount of 50 lb braided line (I'm told this is what's really needed?) And reel that can handle the hard drag

4. On a budget - I don't have a lot of money to spend, and I want a couple rods. I'm hoping that I can find each pole combo for 50 or less (yes I'm fine with used) if there's no such thing I guess I'll have to buy them 1 at a time.

I apologize if you need more information or don't understand what I want. If you are a kayak fisherman in the gulf and catch mahi / Spanish / kings / cobia / shark any of the larger fish than I would love your input. I love fishing and want to do it all, that's why I moved here.

Thanks in advance everyone!

~Adam

·
Registered
319 Posts
Gotta know more about what kind of fishing your doing. Inshore,offshore trolling, bottom bouncing?

50 dollar combo that fills all that is gonna be tough to find

Also do a search of the forum this has been covered multiple times

·
Senior Yakker
2,765 Posts
With all due respect, it doesn't sound like you're experienced enough to jump straight into offshore fishing in a kayak. People die out there...

My recommendation is to spend your $50 each on a couple inshore combos and get the hang of it for a year or so. I know all these kayak reports lately have it looking like a piece of cake but we've had some unusually calm and consistent weather lately. Be careful man, learn to crawl.