Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting into spearfishing and i am not sure what gun to by. It seems that most people shoot Riffe but i also like the rhino. What do you guys think?? I understand you get what you pay for so im down with making an investmant. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
71 Posts
ive had four guns i bought a rife and i will never buy another gun, i does take a little longer to relode but in my opinion i would go with rife

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
Riffeshootsfaster, quieter, and more accurate at longer range.

Rhino generally reloads quicker and is a bruiser of a gun.

I prefer the Riffefor the longer range and accuracy,especially with the lower bag limits. If I was shooting for quantity I'd go with a Rhino - or an AB Biller retrofitted with a rhino speed load system.

The "Rhino" guns of today are not what they were 2 years ago when they were using sea hornet parts. There is a big difference between the old and new, anda lot of folks on here are familiar with the old style.The new style is about double the price of the old.

·
Registered
168 Posts
I have the ability to shoot both :). The rhino DEFINATLEY reloads a lot faster. While the Riffe is definatley quieter. As far as accuracy, I would give a slight nod to the Riffe, but not by much. I shoot a Rhino #2 and a Riffe #3, so of course the Riffe has more range and power (it is a bigger gun, plus has 3 bands vs. 2). I have added a 3rd band to the Rhino but have yet to use it configured that way.

I tend to grab the Rhino more, because of the reloading speed. If I am going on a "one-shot-large-fish" (AJ hunting)dive I go Riffe. Everything else I grab the Rhino, it is just so much more user friendly.

Tough choice......but you will be happy and bring home lots of fish with either gun.

·
Registered
933 Posts
No offense but Mr Bostin just got certified last weekend and I never knew you spearfished Jim:poke