Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10,794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have very little knowledge in the A.R. field. Only that my son borrowed a very good friend of ours one weekend and he has been wanting one since. He has a tikka now, JJ needs a new riffle and likes the tikka, so may as well only buy one gun, lol.

My question is this? What type is easy to operate, easy to maintain and something he can improve on as he ages or wants too. He will need to be able to cover 300 yrds pretty easy. He wants it in a .308. There are so many options idk where to begin. Also do the A.R. require a specific optic?

Any help is appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
12,807 Posts
It'll make him strong! The AR10 is great, but an absolute boat anchor.

·
Super Moderator
12,807 Posts
Agree, the one he used was a RRA, still weighed 8 or 9 lbs?
For sure. I wouldn't bother with building one. Buy a rock river and be done with it. They make a great rifle.

You could do a few upgrades to it, like a geissele trigger which would really make it a quality hunting rifle. You'll be in it a pretty penny for sure.

I contemplated an AR-10 for a long time, and at the end of the day, I bought a BAR in .308... and it's a boat anchor. Lol.

I want a tikka now.

·
Praedator
10,061 Posts
Stick with a full rifle. Don't build one. Stick with the DPMS standard or Armalite standard.

Mine is a DPMS LR-308 with a 16" barrel. Have no problem taking shots out to 300 yards. It's the top rifle. I've turned it into my pig night hunter with the night scope now though.

·
Constitution Conservative
2,581 Posts
Most of the AR10s are good rifles, all of the regular big names produce a reliable, quality rifle, LWRC, GA Precision, Sig Sauer, Bushmaster, DPMS, Rock River Arms, Smith & Wesson and so on.
You can buy a basic rifle starting around $1200-$1400.00, e.g. DPMS Panther Lite or S&W M&P 10.
The high end rifles can get pricey, the LWRC REPR Fluted is damned nice and better be at $3500+