Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so I know that when you gut hook a fish and leave the hook inside the fish is fine and the hook dissolves. Today I went fishing with a guide here in Jacksonville and to fish dead bait on the bottom he used a jig head as a hook, one of which was swallowed by a 29" red. So my question is, as the lead inside that fish dissolves would it harm the fish, the person who ate the fish (supposing it was legal) or both? Would this increase lead levels in the fish?

Chuck

·
Registered
92 Posts
i've eaten doves,quail, and a bunch of other animals that were killed with lead shot. chewed on split shot and crimped em with my teeth. i doubt it would hurt the fish to have a jig in its stomach.

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Lead only causes cancer in California:poke Just kidding. Im no expert either but I would think with a fish swimming around with led in his body that he would have more time to absorb harmful levels, verses shooting a dove and then eating it shortly there after. And that's all I have to say about that.

·
Registered
6,280 Posts
Midnight Rider (12/28/2007)Lead only causes cancer in California:poke Just kidding. Im no expert either but I would think with a fish swimming around with led in his body that he would have more time to absorb harmful levels, verses shooting a dove and then eating it shortly there after. And that's all I have to say about that.
YEA, I would have to agree BUT........ only an idiot would jump to conclusions and think that eating a fishwith a lead weight, not calling the poster an idiot by no means so don't take it that way, could or WOULD infect you. I know a couple of folks walking around with bullets in them now that the doctors wouldn't take the bullet out because it was to close to a major organ and would cause more damage by trying to take it out. LEAD POISIONING was the last of there thoughts.