Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stopped by the beach about a mile east of Portofina today on the way home, real pretty beach, reminds me of the Destin beaches 30 years ago.

Fished 3 rods from about 4:30 to 7:00, using sandfleas i caught there on 2 hook pompano rigs. Waded out waist deep and tried to get the bait just outside the first bar, where the color changed. Ended up with4-5 Ladyfish .....

4-5 catfish ......

2 hardtails .....

one 16"pompano .......

and the biggest sand flea I ever saw. She was full of eggs and just too big so I let her go.

Overall real nice day, the drive along the beach from Pensacola and navarre is one of the prettiest there is.

·
Neptune calls me "Daddy"
9,093 Posts
I am no expert, though I've fished with one recently... I think you set up in the wrong spot just looking at your pictures.

I think you set up in the middle of a scallop where waves break. Looking at your pictures I think you'd do better to set up 50 yards east where that point is. That's the area where the water is movingOUT carrying all the good stuff from the beach out.

It was hard to believe this week that the "dirtier" water held more fish. But the "dirtier" water was where the runoff was coming off the beach. We almost always got a lot more fish (both ladyfish and pompano) in the dirtier water running back from the beach into the gulf.

I could be wrong though, it's hard to tell where you were in relation to the scallop.

Jim

·
Registered
30 Posts