Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Mines Bigger
2,647 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time scalloping next week, is it as easy as snorkeling grass beds in 4-8 feet or is there something else I need to be looking for?

·
Registered
748 Posts
I'm by no means an expert, only been a couple of times and heading back this Labor day weekend with the rest of the crazies. You need to look for the brown moss in the grass. You'll run across big patches of it and we've typically found most scallops in those areas. Last year was tough sledding for numbers, but there is always that one guy who says the limit out every time. We still had a great time last year even though we didn't get a ton of scallops.

·
Registered
13,755 Posts
I’ve never done it in 8 feet of water. But yes 4 feet. Jump overboard swim around a little bit if you don’t see them move. Went last Labor Day. We would limit out in an hour. But you got to keep moving until you find them.

·
Registered
705 Posts
What Tom said. Last year the numbers were so high we went on opening weekend and had our limit in about 20mins with 2 people. They were everywhere. Not sure about this year. The longer you wait the harder they will be to find. Good luck.

·
Registered
3,478 Posts
Last year was great. Follow the boats and ask the locals. Please report how you do. good luck

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
My kids did great least year. Go to the north end of the bay or around blacks island. The channels can be tricky and it's easy to run aground if your not careful. Go where the boats are. Don't forget your dive flag.

·
Registered
8,378 Posts
I used to go a lot but haven’t been in years.
You will see big sandy areas in the middle of the grass. I used to find lots of scallops around the edges of those sandy areas.
Like was said before, be sure to take a dive flag. Get some thin, flexible blade scallop knives.