Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,033 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I was sitting around pondering more stuff this morning, and I got started thinking. There are 11,000 members of PFF. In all those members, there has GOT to be a pretty good representative sample of the total recreational fishermen of the gulf coast. I am not good at statistics, but I suspect that IF NMFS is ACTUALLY surveying recreational fishermen (as they claim), then PFF should be able to confirm it.

I have never met anyone who was ever contacted, so this will serve as a "test" to see if these people exist.:takephoto

I guess the question would be: What constitutes a representative sample of a population (10%, 20%, etc) and then what percent are we (pff) of that population? We should arrive at the number of positive responses in the math.

What can I say? It is a slow day, and I got started thinking too hard...... LOL:doh

I did search first and failed to find where anyone has already done this on PFF.:letsdrink

·
Praedator
9,927 Posts
Yep, checked by a surveyor at Sherman Cove just a little over a year ago. He measured, weighed etc... while I washed down the boat. By the time I was done washing the boat down, he was done and put the fish back in the cooler. He took info on all of our fish, not just the snapper.

·
Registered
749 Posts
Ditto...checked two days in a row at Sherman Cove ... same thing asked to check the fish for a survey...came onboard (fish were in the boat's fish boxes) he checked and collected data onall the fish. BBob

·
Registered
227 Posts
Yes, in the fall of 07 & 08 at Galvez ramp. We had Gulf and Southern Flounder on board and the Gal showed us how to identify the two. Measured and weighed them, and went thru a 5 minute questionnaire. No pressure and all volunteer.

Shipoke

·
Banned
257 Posts
No offense I hope, but your questions are structured in such a manner that any results you get are invalid.