Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been fishing the surf for a while now and doing pretty well. I have not ever fished off a bridge or pier but I am interested in getting started, especially before Cobia season heats up.

What is a good setup to have at the P'cola beach pier? I see pictures of all different types of gear, most of mine is geared for the surf. What are the essentials for reds, kings, spanish, flounder, etc? What type of rigs/bait? I just moved here from Atlanta this summer so I am still learning. Thanks for the help!

Dan

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
The 2 times I've been to the pier were not exactly fun. If you go this time of year you'll be ok though. Too many people slinging and not caring one bit if you are there. If you go during cobe season, or summer be sure to bring:

·
Registered
515 Posts
shutterup (1/1/2008)HATER :Flipbird
Actually you will need all of that gear if you're targeting cobes. My advice would be to hold off on the pier until mid/late April or May. Get out there w/ at least 150 yds or 15 or 20 pound line with a wire leader and a #4 trebel hook with a cigar minnow or any live bait you can catch. PM VS200B for some good tips targeting the other species b/c he's out there quite a bit and has a lot of success.

·
Registered
129 Posts
i got a mitchell 302 that i use for kings and what not at the pier and i use a stradic 4000 for like pomps,bobos,flounder and reds

·
Registered
2,030 Posts
the typical pier setup isa penn 704 or 706 with a 9' rod. as for cobia season, the "slinging jigs" aren't really that bad. just keep an eye out for the guys near you.

·
TeaBilly National
368 Posts
The most important thing you'll need for pier cobia fishing is

A: Good eyes and capability to recognize fish.

B:The ability to very accurately cast to a moving target, i.e. cobia.

C:A rod and reel that can comfortably handle 30 pound test and throw a 3-4 ounce jig.