Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been fishing inshore for about 3 months now and am ready to head offshore and wanted some advice.

Currently I have an 11' OK trident that I fish out of. Would this be big enough to head off shore in or should I look into investing in something larger.

What type of rod/reel should I invest in? I've been looking at a Penn Battle 5000 combo. Would this be big enough or should I look at something else. I have around a $200 budget.

Also any special safety equipment needed. I've already got a good PFD and leashes for everything. Any input you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

·
Terrible Fisherman
384 Posts
So I've been fishing inshore for about 3 months now and am ready to head offshore and wanted some advice.

Currently I have an 11' OK trident that I fish out of. Would this be big enough to head off shore in or should I look into investing in something larger.

What type of rod/reel should I invest in? I've been looking at a Penn Battle 5000 combo. Would this be big enough or should I look at something else. I have around a $200 budget.

Also any special safety equipment needed. I've already got a good PFD and leashes for everything. Any input you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
I'd fish what you have for now brother. Pick nice smooth days and watch the wind forecast very closely. A north wind can spell disaster in a hurry. We have had perfect conditions lately but always a mild north breeze. We will be heading out again next weekend trying to capitalize on kings. Your more than welcome to come along but remember we will be using trolling motors .

The battle 5000 is great for what we do in the gulf. I'd suggest spooling it with braid.