Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to fishing in general, saltwater or otherwise.
But I make it to FL at least twice a year and wanted to try my luck while I'm down.

I'm not going for monster fish like shark or anything. But I'd love some
Pompano, Whiting, Flounder, Ladyfish, Sheepshead, Speckled Trout, Bluefish, (small Red fish?), Jacks, etc.

So I wanted help on some very basic gear questions that for some reason I haven't been able to find answers for.

***What rod weight do I need?
Medium-Light, Medium, Medium-Heavy?

***What rod length do I need?
7', 9-10', 12'?

***What rod action do I need?
Fast, Medium Fast, Medium, Slow?

I'd very much like to stick with mono line, but

***What pound test do I need?
12, 20, 30?

And a follow up to that question,

***What is the heaviest weight I can cast without snapping my line?
1 oz, 3 oz, 5 oz?

My bass set up is a
7' Daiwa Medium-Light rod
Okuma Avenger AV-30a reel (200/6, 160/8, 110/10)

Which I realize is relatively anemic for saltwater.

I have little issue with buying a new rod for FL but I'd really rather not get a new reel if I don't have to. (even though my line capacity is an obvious problem.)

PS - Just a broad question here but what are the differences between surf fishing, pier fishing, inshore fishing, fishing from a boat, etc. Can some shortly and sweetly boil those done to their most basic definitions for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

·
Banned
3,084 Posts
On my light to medium tackle that I use for reds, blues, ladyfish etc. I have 2 7' rods I believe and an 8'. I have 10#,15# and 20# in my reels. All mono.

I dont do a lot of pomp, sheep, flounder fishing, but for the others I use my set up witha suspending or topwater lure. I do have some leaders set up for live/dead minnows/menhaden/pinfish etc. Ive caught blues on squid, pinfish and lures. Caught reds on ladyfish head, amd ladyfish is usually just a mirrolure.