Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post, been lurking for awhile and appreciate all of the floating information around! I am a total newb to offshore fishing and am looking for some insight. I purchased a 22’cc two months ago and was able to take it out for the snapper opening weekend(June1-3). We were successful in boating 4 keeper snapper but found much difficulty holding position with the wind and current. We were given some private #’s to use and the spot was marking tons of fish, however we were catching 1 tiny ARS after another. How long should I sit on a spot catching small fish?? Other than the obvious “large bait” what could I do to increase the size we are catching? Are spots that hold small fish a waste or should I be more patient?

Public spots... have not went to any yet, but was thinking of hitting the LuLu and some of the public #’s around it. Advice on public spots, what’s courtesy berths for other fishermen?

I have been reading, learning new techniques everyday, but it’s like drinking from a firehose.

·
Registered
6,441 Posts
search these forums for numbers, I've posted .gpx files of most of the public stuff. You can bounce around and catch a few fish off of it. Otherwise, learn to read your bottom machine and look for small structure with fish shows. Mark that spot and keep trolling. Then turn around and fish what you have found. That's how I've found most of my productive bottom spots, and caught a bunch of kings and bobos and spanish also. Good luck.

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,546 Posts
The bigger snapper are there but they usually remain up higher in the water column!

Reactions: Realtor

·
Registered
3,840 Posts
As for time on a reef? I usually see people sit on them for 20-30 mins. We usually sit on them for 1-3 hours. The biggest snapper that I have ever caught was after sitting on a reef for about 2-1/2 hours. It hit a free-lined Ruby Red that was about 20ft down in 75ft of water.