Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm trading a rifle for 2 kayaks tomorrow so that I can start getting into kayak fishing, I've never done it before, any pointers?

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
Not a pro by any means, but here's some random thoughts.

W/ an empty kayak, get out on the water and learn how to handle your yak.
Roll it over, paddle and turn and stop and start, get in , get out...may seem silly, but this will prepare you for when your yak is loaded.

Get something to hold fish, cooler or fish bag, rod holders, floating & waterproof, everything.

If fishing inshore, I've never seen any reason to tie stuff off, as I'm usually in water I can stand in.

If going off-shore, tie everything off or lose it.

I'm sure others will chime in.
Wonderful sport, enjoy and have fun!

·
Freshwater Flounder
3,840 Posts
Not a pro by any means, but here's some random thoughts.

W/ an empty kayak, get out on the water and learn how to handle your yak.
Roll it over, paddle and turn and stop and start, get in , get out...may seem silly, but this will prepare you for when your yak is loaded.

Get something to hold fish, cooler or fish bag, rod holders, floating & waterproof, everything.

If fishing inshore, I've never seen any reason to tie stuff off, as I'm usually in water I can stand in.

If going off-shore, tie everything off or lose it.

I'm sure others will chime in.
Wonderful sport, enjoy and have fun!
Go with someone else ... and if not, let somebody know when & where you are putting in & that you'll call when you put out. (At least then they'll have a time-frame & know where to start the search.)

Get/make a leash for your paddle. Stay away from high boat traffic areas. Wear a PFD Get a handheld VHF. Have a non-breakable signalling mirror & a loud whistle attached to your PFD

Oh ... and as 'barefoot' said .... make sure you are well practiced at getting quickly back in your yak & tie everything down.

·