Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im fairly new to the Pensacola area and I just got my first kayak. Ive gone out about 7 times and so far all ive caught was a tiny slot red and a large mouth bass. Any advice on where to fish this time of year would be much appreciated thanks...

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
3 mile bridge or bob sikes. Drop fiddler crabs down on a carolina rig as close to the pilings as you can. Small sharp circle hooks.

The next few months is IMO the best fishing of the year. Sheepshead are tasty!

·
Registered
386 Posts
like I said im new to kayak fishing.... what kind of winds do most kayakers call it quits at???
As someone with a cheap kayak without pedals, I usually watch swellinfo.com/other weather sites and if it's 10mph winds or less I'm out there without a concern. I would launch with higher winds if you're planning on drifting baits/lures across a large area, but if you're trying to hug structure and keep your rigs on target, it takes some good practice managing the paddling with the wind over ten mph. Obviously if you can find a leeward shore the trees often give you a couple hundred yards of cover with much reduced winds, especially in bayous, this often dictates where I'll fish this time of year when I'm either on structure or picking a back bayou.

·
2015 PA 14
44 Posts
With the weather outlook depending on wind speed and direction will determine where my buddies and I fish. We usually try and find cuts or spots that will be somewhat protected from the wind, more north in blackwater, and make life easier while throwing and trying to stay on spot. The weather has been really funky lately and the bite has been slow and tough.....hit the bridges up with fiddlers....fellow yakers have been doin pretty well lately with them

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #10