Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am still pretty new to fishing from a kayak. I have had a lot luck with inshore reds and specks but I really want to target some cobia this upcoming season. I do not have a kayak cart and I am assuming this is essential for bringing a kayak on the beach. Aside from this, what are some things I should think about when targeting these fish. I live in destin and will be willing to go out with some of you guys to learn the ropes.My tacklelooks like its going to be a 750ss with30lb braid, is this enough?Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
931 Posts
you cant really "target" ling from a yak bc of the height problem but since you live in destin id go to all the nearshore wrecks like the miss louise and just hope they litterally swim right up to you. if you wanted to go specifically for cobia the only thing i could think would be to anchor up and shum really hard.

·
Squid technician
10,498 Posts
specslayer (2/24/2010)you cant really "target" ling from a yak......................................................if you wanted to go specifically for cobia the only thing i could think would be to anchor up and shum really hard.
Why can't you?

I've done it many times off our beaches over here in Gulf Shores. Your bottom line says it all; chum, chum and more chum. Yes you will catch kings and other stuff as well if you have a drift line out but if just want cobes just keep chumming with a bag of chum supplemented with some larger chunks of cigar minnows or menhaden. If they are running the beaches they will be there before too long. I've done this the past 2 seasons with very good reults.

·
Registered
205 Posts