Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am new to saltwater fishing since this last calendar year. I have fallen in love with it and am trying to get better. I currently wade fish mostly Pensacola bay and occasionally surf fish. I have had success with catching slot reds on Carolinas and live shrimp; however, I am trying to make the change to artificials. The past couple weeks I have fished I have pretty much struck out not including a few undersized trout. I’ve been doing a ton of research as to how to find better spots, more structure, and correct targeting and presentation but am having no luck. I feel like I’m finding good areas with grass flats, holes, docks, and channels, but no luck. I’m trying to catch mainly redfish and have tried thoroughly fishing grass flats both shallow and deep with popping cork/doa, gulp shrimp on jig, and mr-17 (never caught one on this) with the occasional topwater early morning and glassy conditions. I usually go from 5am-9am and try to time it right with incoming tides and good conditions. Any tips you all can give me from the info I’ve provided you with? I’m beginning to think I just suck at presentation with the artificials, but it just seems like I’m missing something.

Thanks for any help

·
Registered
400 Posts
I hate to say it, but it sounds like you might suck at presentation. If you have been successful with live bait, then that means you have found good locations. Keep researching, keep trying, pay attention to what presentation catches each fish. Or pay an inshore guide for a day.... that's what I would do....

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I hate to say it, but it sounds like you might suck at presentation. If you have been successful with live bait, then that means you have found good locations. Keep researching, keep trying, pay attention to what presentation catches each fish. Or pay an inshore guide for a day.... that's what I would do....