Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

As a couple of you already know I am pretty good at electronics. I am in the USCG and have been for more than 6 years.:usaflag Almost all of that time has been spent working on various electronics. I can troubleshoot systems and Install them. I have an FCC license with shipboard RADAR systems. I also am a Certified Electronics Tech. I have all the test equipment necessary to troubleshoot many (but not all) systems. If you need help diagnosing a problem then I am your man. The cost will be by job depending on size of boat and complexity of job. There is one catch however that I MUST tell you. I am not by any means licensed or insured and I will assume no responsibilities for any malfunctions or other problems that may arise from my work. I don't want to scare you away with that comment but I am just a back yard tech.

On my last trip out on the water I noticed my chart plotter has started to go on the fritz and I have a couple of models I am drooling over and Christmas is around the corner so I am interested in giving a hand to those who need it. Because I am not licensed all prices and jobs will be negotiable (not free) but affordable for those (like myself) who can not afford professional installers.

If you need a hand with something even if it isn't really electronics shoot me a PM or call me.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I almost forgot. I can also peak and tweak most of your vhfradios to ensure maximum output power, frequency adjustments,and receive quality. Alot of radios bought from places like west marine only put out 16watts of power. The FCC has a maximum regulation of 25watts so you could be missing out on some range.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I need more details.

1. are you installing a new auto pilot

2. size of boat

3. make and model of auto pilot and RADAR

·
Registered
296 Posts