Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm pretty new to fishing artificials inshore. Normally I just use live shrimp. I have no idea what color lures to buy. I have some soft plastic jerkbaits in new penny and some mirrodines in electric chicken and the 808 color. I rarely use them and only caught a couple of fish on them. What I want to know is in what situation would you use a natural color lure over an unnatural color like electric chicken. Also when would you use chartreuse tail baits over baits without a chartreuse tail? I've heard some people say chartreuse for murky water and some say for clear.
Also what are good color choices for topwaters and whats an overall rule of thumb to selecting the right lure color? I mostly wade fish over grass for trout and redfish. :D

·
Registered
18 Posts
Anything Chartreuse!!!

you'll get a bunch of opinions, so here's mine.. I generally use a shad assassin type bait with chartreuse tail / body on a 1/8 to 1/4 oz. chartreuse jighead. Usually go with lighter, glittery colors for clear water and a darker one for murky water. But, this is what I throw 85% of the time. Hard body lures, usually go with natural fish patterns.

Chartreuse is that kinda neon green flavored bait...:D

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
scoff at chartreuse if you choose. Fish like it. That's all I need to know. ain't nobody out there throwing peanut butter colored baits for a reason.

·
Registered
421 Posts
My $0.02
Lots of people seem to say that you use lighter colors when the water and skies are more clear, darker colors when the water has less visibility or its overcast. I think its easy to overplay the importance of color though, and I dont think you need tons of lures in every color combo. Finding fish when they are feeding is more important, feeding fish will often hit most decent presentations.