Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fellas, I'm new to kayak fishing and have been researching for about 6 months now. I'm pretty much sold on the Hobie outback but my wallet (and wife) say otherwise. My dilemma is should I just get a relatively cheap, good starter yak like the Pelican 116 or spring for the Hobie right off the bat? I'd like to hear what you think and what you did when you first got into yak fishing.

thanks,

BR

·
Registered
174 Posts
don't waste money working up to where you know you will eventually be. I can troll 2 stretch 25's while drinking a Dew at 3.7 mph . Or anchor then sit sideways and fish one livey on a flat line while casting a plug . Lets see ya do that on another yak besides a hobie outback.

why buy a Sportster when you know you will end up with Road King?

·
Registered
503 Posts
I have the Pelican and the Outback, two completly different yaks. You get what you pay for, the pelican is ok but nothing like a prowler 13, wilderness systems type kayaks. Don't get me wrong, the pelican is not to bad for the money, but tracking sucks and you will work harder. Yaking is a lot of fun, and can be really awesome with the right yak, get the wrong yak, it could cause you to hang up the sport.

I would say if your set on the outback, keep saving. Nothing worse then settling for something you really didn't want. I think you will be much happier in the long run.

And if you can't swing the outback, Ocean Kayak is reasonable for the Prowler 13. I think West Marine has them for 699. Great kayak, great price. And you can always easily add a rudder when funds become available. Just remember, a good paddle will make a really huge difference.

·
Registered
1,563 Posts