Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to see what is the best way to mount a system to the native propel 13. Is it better through the scupper holes or using the rail mount off the side or through the hull? I do a wide range of fishing from in the bays to the gulf. I am new to the kayak world so any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I did a through hull on mine. My HDI transducer was too wide to do a scupper mount. It stuck out too far and I was afraid of running it into something and messing it up. I never did an over the side deployable because I do a lot of pier/structure fishing and was afraid of either knocking it against something or having a fish get my line tangled up in it. I like the picture with it mounted on the propel unit, but I'm ADD when it comes to cable managment and everything and don't know what I would do with the extra cable. I would like it to be in the water, but for my fishing through hull works good enough for me as I really only use it to see what the bottom is like and don't really pay attention to if there is fish or not.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Did mine like this came out great works for me maybe helps for ideas
What do you do with the extra cable?...I like this idea, but would want to have the cable shortened and plug into a reciprocal mounted on yak to go through the hull then back out to my unit. Unfortunatly I can't find the jack like the one on the unit that I can order and I have been told that splicing transducer wires isn't the best thing to do.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Look up the railblaza transducer arm. Before I sold mine I put it on the rails on the left side of the cock pit up by the front. I wired the battery into the native battery bag under the drive in that compartment and then mounted the actual fish finder on the top of the propel drive.

·
Formerly Hank Hill
839 Posts