Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Capt Dickhead
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got the invite to hunt with Jimmy Madden (AKA Jimmy-Buff-it)at his club Sat morn. We had done a little work up there Fri afternoon, and he told me to meet him the next morn at 5am. So 4:15 rolls around, and I'm headin out the door, call Jimmy to see what he want's from Whataburger at 5 points, and no answer. I waited a few minutes and tried again, no answer. I figured he forgot his phone, or just forgot to turn it on, so I grabbed breakfast and headed to the gate. Gate's locked (members only), so I pull off to the side and wait. about 5:15 or so sleeping beauty calls and says the alarm must have malfunctioned or something like that, and he's on his way. So he gets there in record time and It's on. We get signed in and dressed and head to the spot a fellow member has allowed me to hunt. I got settled in right at 6 and started ranging the area. Remember this is my first time in the woods with a bow, and I've been practicing alot, but a target and the real thing are a huge difference and I feel like 30 yards is my max for now. I'm sitting in a ladder stand with a rail over looking an almost dried up pond with lots of tracks, like its a deer highway or something. Well Mr Amos, the one who let me hunt here,told me I had to be ready, cause they dont stay around very long. At 6:45 I heard something other than the birds that were making all kinds of noise. I looked up about 12 o'clock from my position, and see two does, the first being the larger of the two. They were coming in from the heavy underbrush moving to my left at maybe 20 yards. they both had no idea I was there, so I stood up and got my bow in position in one motion. now they are at about 10 o'clock and moving away slowly, still without seeing me. I took a deep breath, and pulled back my bowstring and caught the leads eye. She looked in my direction but not right at me and this put her at 32 yds broadside quarte