Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of y'all may seen a few post from me latley. I am very new to this sport, and hope to have a kayak withen the next two weeks. My question is what would you consider must have accessories to fish out of a kayak. I probably won't be in the gulf to start with, but will be in the bays and estuaries. Any advise will be greatly appriceated, and hopefully soon I will be posting pictures of fish insted of just asking questions.

·
Registered
380 Posts
a PFD. And wear that mother-lover. waterproof (proof-not resistant) box for wallet, phone, pictures of your mama, car keys, etc.. Cooler for bait and fish. Ask me what sharks do to stringers of fish... A small (I really mean small-space is at a premium in a kayak) tackle box. A compass, whistle, light,..

·
Super Moderator
27,942 Posts
What GBT said....also lip grippers, pliers, knife, measuring board, light (if night fishing duh), small bat if trying to catch cobia/kings, ohhh most important thing-----fishie poles!!! hahaha

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
If the budget allows I highly recommend an inflatable PFD. My old bass boat life jacket got waaaaay too hot out there paddling around last August. I like the soft sided ice chests because they fit in easier and are much quieter and you can lay stuff on them and it stays put. I also like to carry a few zip lock bags to put used lures and assorted trash in to bring off the water. (I don't like a lot of loose fod laying around on the deck).

·
Yakadoodledo
412 Posts
Last week I was advised to get a VHF radio. So I did. $99.00 at Dick's.
That is beside all the other stuff listed above.
Seems some folks also like to carry a small radio or mp3 with speaker.

·
Registered
29 Posts