Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all -

Been looking in this part of the forum for a while and now I think it's best just to ask especially since the friends I've made so far are new too and/or don't hunt...

It sounds like I'll have a lot of down time these next few months and figured I'd like to get out in the woods. This is my first year down here and I've spent most of it on piers (not successfully). I'm currently thinking about buying a bow and look for some deer ... but am I too late this year?

My experience consists of hunting grouse/pheasant in MN and 1 year of ducks in ND, but from what I read that can be tough down here too (plus my guns are still in MN)

Basically what I'm looking for is advice on where to begin... I've been reading a lot but am now trying to narrow it down.

Scouting tips in this area (do I NEED a boat for escambia wma, is Blackwater a better option?). Also, there are some critters down here I never had to think about - anything special for them?

Must have gear for the woods? I have a general idea but if you find something extra helpful. (Probably be staying on the ground if that helps)

I should be shipped out of the state next summer so this may be my only year down here and would like to see what it has to offer

Sorry for the book - Thanks for reading

·
Registered
89 Posts
I have a older bow you can have if you come pick it up. May need new stings but you should get by with it like it is for this season. PM me and we can meet up. Don't know anything about Blackwater but it you want to hunt Escambia WMA most people I know do it by boat.I have hunted Yellow River WMA by foot and saw deer and hog sign but didn't get one. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have a older bow you can have .
Darn, I already picked on up - oh well, But I thank you for the offer. Very generous.