Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Complete turtle.

Lost one box of hooks and weights and one glove.

3 Rods, 3 tackle trays, gaff, cooler, seats etc were on the boat strapped in. most importantly my son and I were found as well :)

My son thought it was funny. It scared me until my son came up laughing. My wife would have grounded us both :)

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
This is one of the thigs Im conccerned most about...I have bougt my son a revo 11 and all he talks about is going out the Gulf...He needs to learn a few things first, He is 10 y.o.
Do you bail out when u read 4 ft or so? before the brakers ofcourse, and ride the wave? Im sure the tides play a big role. I just cant wait to put it out there and keep a clean record...(no flipping)

·
King of Mobile
1,147 Posts
please elaborate on what happened???. im new to yaking making my first trip around dauphin island tomorrow.. lifetime fisherman have countless honey holes but bought my first kayak today.. any info tips on do's and dont's would be appreciated

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
please elaborate on what happened???. im new to yaking making my first trip around dauphin island tomorrow.. lifetime fisherman have countless honey holes but bought my first kayak today.. any info tips on do's and dont's would be appreciated
I read on here one thing to do is hop off before the breakers and swim the yak in. I developed a false sneeze of security. The water has been rough (2-4) and I had surfed in a few times. Today, I got on a smallish wave thought I could surf it in and before I could react we were in the drink bottoms up.

The problem/temptation is that surfing is fun...but kayaks are not surfboards. No more surfing for me.

·
Registered
69 Posts