Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have searched many sites and still can not figure out how to correctly set up my line. Could someone show mea pic or describe how they set up their line? I was wondering what knot to use for the fly line-leader and leader to tippet? I also have no idea of length for each. I've seen several site saying different lengths, What works best?

I purchased flourocabon tippet and tappered leaders. I have no idea what length to make them. I have no problem going to academy and buying all new line to make this work right.

Thank you!

·
Registered
114 Posts
I use a <U>nail knot</U> to tie my tippet to my floating line.it depends on what kinda fishing that i am doing a normally tie a 6-9ft leader but somepeople like shoter and some like longer leaders it just kinda depends on what you like the most.

-Hunter

·
Registered
3,048 Posts
I'm no pro at fly fishing, but I use a nail knot for my fly line to leader connection and that's pretty standard. Use the whole leader that you purchased, only trim it when you are putting on new tippet. I use a couple of feet of tippet depending on what kind of fishing I'm doing and usually use a surgeons knot, which I think is pretty standard too.

I highly recommend you go by Dizzy Lizzy's and shoot the bull with them for a bit. They are the most knowledgable in the area when it comes to fly fishing equipment.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So Tippet and leader are two different sized lines correct.? If I tie a 6ft leader to my floating line, then I tie on the tippet which can be from 3-6ft?? Is the tippet just so the fish don't see the leader and get scared off? Could I just use a floating line and tippet or should I tie floating line to a leader and then leader to a tippet?

·
Banned
1,953 Posts