Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm New to surf fishing and was told that Key Largo Rods in Tamps Fa are good rods,does anyone use them or know about them? the rods are 11' 1-3oz Med/fast tip will be using them for Pompano and Red Drum fishing. This is my first post love this web site Thanks

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,548 Posts

Sorry I don't know anything about those rods, but wanted to say Hi

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
seems a bit large for pomps to me but as far as the Key Largo's, I have several types, styles and sizes and love them all.

·
Registered
587 Posts
Stan, welcome aboard.

The following is an "unpaid" opinion lol.

I've got a offshore key largo rod (primarily heavy bottom fishing). The ros is built very good, decent componants. Definately several grades above "walmart" issue. However, it's still a "factory" manafactored stick. You might be better in the long run talking with a custom rod builder and having something specifically built for your purposes...

/r steve

·
Registered
21 Posts
Key largo rods use gator blanks which are low quality

If you are serious about surf fishing go with lamiglass blanks or rods.

the ron arra blanks and rods are to of the line. For a lower cost option go with the ugly stick rods found at most tackle stores

·
Super Moderator
12,803 Posts
thereeldeal (12/15/2007)Key largo rods use gator blanks which are low quality

the ron arra blanks and rods are to of the line. For a lower cost option go with the ugly stick rods found at most tackle stores
for surf fishing it doesn't matter, gators are just as strong, probably stronger than most lami's... besides, the rods will be in a sandspike most of the time, so spending an extra 100 bucks to save a few ounces on weight isn't really feasable.... just my .02

·
Registered
962 Posts
VS200B (12/15/2007)
thereeldeal (12/15/2007)Key largo rods use gator blanks which are low quality