Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When trolling out of a kayak for bonita/mahi/kings, what tackle should I use? I've got some dusters with the triple j hooks on em and some stinger rigs. How far out should I troll and how should I make my runs? (parallel or perpendicular to the beach) I've always stayed nearshore and had a field day on smacks while watching the bigger stuff out deep but now I'm looking to expand my horizons. Any tips are appreciated

·
Registered
343 Posts
I know you posted this a while ago, but since no one has responded, figured I'd share what little advice I have. I would say that I am far from an expert but I've always used a stinger rig with and without a duster and had success trolling frozen and live cigar minnows. You don't have to go out real far to target what you mentioned. I start trolling around where the water changes colors to a darker blue, usually a little bit after the second sand bar, and typically paddle in a big figure 8 parallel to the beach. The figure 8 allows you to switch up your depth and find the fish, as I've found that they are almost always at a different depth depending on the day.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I know you posted this a while ago, but since no one has responded, figured I'd share what little advice I have. I would say that I am far from an expert but I've always used a stinger rig with and without a duster and had success trolling frozen and live cigar minnows. You don't have to go out real far to target what you mentioned. I start trolling around where the water changes colors to a darker blue, usually a little bit after the second sand bar, and typically paddle in a big figure 8 parallel to the beach. The figure 8 allows you to switch up your depth and find the fish, as I've found that they are almost always at a different depth depending on the day.
I like the idea of a figure 8. I am going to have to try that.