Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get some new gear. What types of reels would you guys recommend for fishing the gulf out of a kayak? I really want a good multipurpose reel that I can use for targeting many different species like kings, cobia, amberjack (if possible), and typical bottom fish.

I'm would slightly prefer spinning tackle but I'm open to anything.

If you cant tell buy this post, I am pretty new to this so any info would be really helpful. Thanks!

·
PrettyAwesomeWhiteGuy
1,503 Posts
I use the Okuma ABF Avenger series. The auto bait feed flip switch works amazing while trolling or free lining bait. Plus they hold a massive amount of line!

·
Registered
332 Posts
I have a Penn Battle 5000 on a stout 6' St Croix rod, and it's turned out to be a great, versatile combo. It handles spanish, kings, etc no problem. It's pretty decent for bottom fishing for reef fish, but I'm planning to get a heavier duty conventional for snapper, etc. I put 30lb braid on it, but I'm not sure if it really needs/ handles that much drag. The drag Is very smooth, and it seems like a good value for a reel.

·
Squid technician
10,487 Posts
The best thing to do is to go to your local tackle shop and play with a bunch of different setups. You'll find that everyone likes something completely different from the next.

Either way, you can't go wrong with a Shimano or Daiwa although for the money, the Penn Fierce is hard to beat at 69.99-79.99.

·
Red Solo Kayak
1,269 Posts
I'm a fan of the penn sargus reels. Great drag and line cap. I also use a shimano stradic ci4 on a 7' rod.

·
Registered
64 Posts
The new Shimano Stradic FJs are awesome. Never owned a better reel. I would recommend the 8000 on a Teremar rod. Plenty of backbone in this rod for just about anything... All together about $250-300. Also Avet makes a great reel too.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·