Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in the Midwest but thankfully get to head down to the GOM a few times a year to give it a go. I’ve never tried jig fishing and was curious what you all suggest lure wise for red snapper, grouper and AJ. I’ll be down mid June. Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
3,424 Posts
I’m no expert but I was tearing up the amberjack yesterday On a diamond jig. Let it flutter to bottom and aggressively jig it up in the water column And hang on. also picked up some triggers on the diamond. Good luck

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome thanks for the info! Did you have better luck with a specific size jig or was it all fair game?

·
Registered
3,424 Posts
Awesome thanks for the info! Did you have better luck with a specific size jig or was it all fair game?
It was about 130’ of water. I believe the diamond jig was about 8 ounces or so. Not lots of current yesterday so it went right to the bottom

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Vertical jigs are are deadly and even though it's more work than bait fishing, it's a heck of a lot of fun. I've caught so many different species on them it's crazy. When there's not much current, I like a a 3-4 oz jig in depths less than 150'.

·
Registered
338 Posts