Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
to plant a small plot right now?? i just found a piece to hunt on...and want to "pep" it up a little...is it too late to plant now or worth a shot?

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
It shouldn't be a problem. It'll come in just handy about RUT time bow huntin' would be out but late gun should be fine.Where are you Fl or AL?

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
its in Florida, up in molino on pvt property...dont have to worry bout it being cut down...just didnt know if everything would come up in time or not....im kinda new to hunting...so i wasnt sure.....i found a spot with some tracks on it....so i figured it would be a good idea to plant something where the stand is set up.

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
You should be fine crazyfire. Just be sure to get the rite amount of fertilizer for the size of your plot and it should come in great.

·
Registered
782 Posts
recomend you invest in a good feeder you can program your times for it to go off. the old golden retreiver never fails!

i also recomend top notch & record rack blue bag deer feed, sold at both barnes feed stores.

i would save the seed money and buy feed.

and i was talking about the deer mowing it down, not as person.

·
Super Moderator
28,115 Posts
Whipper Snapper's right, but I would wait until after season to go with a timer feeder...Let the deer get use to hearing the spinner go off and let them grow use to the times during the off season then they can be at ease during the season....

As fer the plot, I usually plant plots during the bow season, matter of factI just planted part of my plot today...Get a mixture of wheat/oats/winter peas/rape/turnip and tripple 13 fertilizer is what I use. Good luckthis year...:letsdrink

·
Registered
1,464 Posts