Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried sabiki rigs bait all over the place but they don’t bite. How do you catch em?

·
Registered
2,262 Posts
It's not just you, the bait schools at the Mass have been less willing to bite this year for a number of people I know, me included, despite a number of approaches including the ones mentioned. I am a relative offshore novice, but in the past we could catch them and this year we have struggled. I can't explain it. We've had better luck around some of the buoy chains but even that has been limited.

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
Are you talking cigs, threadfin, hardtails or LYs? Cigs close to the surface seldom hit sabikis. Make a snatch rig for those and use trebles. Hardtails, throw the sabiki out from you and work it back fairly quickly. Threadfin will usually stay outside the school of LYs and like to hit on the drop. LYs like sabikis early in the morning and late afternoon....but a ribbon rig works all day on them. Don't go to the bottom with a ribbon. Stop it about 2 feet above them. If the LYs are high up, cast net...on the edge, not in the center of the school and don't let it go to the bottom. As soon as it hit on top of them, pull it shut.

·
Registered
2,262 Posts

First time I've heard of a ribbon rig but it sounds interesting. Never know what you might learn!

·
Registered
5,410 Posts

The 2 types of ribbon rigs. LYs attack the red ribbon and get stuck.

Reactions: LY-zer

·
Registered
1,008 Posts