Pensacola Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had a cert since 01 and my buddy just got his. I have dove in Cancun and Hawaii, once out of Destin and once in Pensacola. We are both new and have all the gear except tanks. We both have Glacier Bay cats...mine 22 and his 26.

Have very low to no experience, how should we get started diving and then spearing?

We both like to fish and think speargun fishing would be the thing to do.

Input welcome.

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,550 Posts
I have been diving since 1970 and I strongly recommend you take it slowly. There is absolutely nothing down there that is worth your life. That being said start of slowly and shallow and get used to your gear and the water and then move deeper and then take on spearfishing, and go at your own pace. Do not push yourself.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lobsterman,

We had thought of diving on the new (last June) FADs that I think are in fairly shallow water. What would you recommend for a shallow dive location and depth?

·
Registered
5,021 Posts
First off I would try and make it to the free spearfishing seminar at MBT this friday! Heres the post on it...

<a href="http://orangebeachfishingforum.com/Topic571840.aspx">http://orangebeachfishingforum.com/Topic571840.aspx</a>

Everything is covered, from gear, techniques, safety, shot placement...you name it. And a lot of things you never thought of if you are still new to it, are talked about.

There a lot of fun, and there will be a lot of great spearfishermen there, alot of em from this forum, and you can get all the advice you need...and a bunch of tall tales too...haa haa.

But having boats, you will have no problem getting someexperiencedguys to head out with you and show you the ropes.

·
Registered
10,161 Posts