Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it ok to store your yak on a trailer sitting on the carpet runners? I have heard not to store it sitting on it's bottom because it may warp it. How do y'all store your yaks on their bottom, suppended on their side, upside down?

·
Super Moderator
28,163 Posts
I have a lift I have to install in my shed fer ours....but right now they sit on carpet padding in my shed....

·
Formerly Hank Hill
839 Posts
I made a rolling cart. I mostly use the yellow yak. The yak's hang on a 2" strap. I can push it to my truck, unhook the front strap and it slides right into the truck. Even add a few extra hooks for storage. Having trouble uploading a pic., they are timing out when I go to upload. I'll try again shortly.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'm new to kayaks. Does the plastic degrade or discolor if left outside? I was thinking about building something like a sawhorse rack in my backyard as the garage is full. It would not be in direct sun.

·
Registered
423 Posts
Hanging in the garage from the rafters. Easy way to keep your yak out of the weather. Google kayak storage...you will find lots of good ideas.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'd at least cover it w/ a tarp or something. Also be aware that the summer heat will make the plastic bend easier, so careful the way you store it.
I think it gets hotter in my garage than outside in the shade! I just now looked at the rafter solution and don't see it working in my garage. My garage door or tracks take up the front 2/3 of the ceiling. I would have to remove the wife's car to get it in the front third, basically across the front of the garage. One side has shelves and the other my workbench. I think it will HAVE to go outside.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Aha! I watched a video of someone spraying that on their kayak and was wondering what it was. So yours still has close to the original color?

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #16