Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I have been doing a lot of research on this site and hulltruth.com to decide which boat would be best to purchase for my needs. I am in the market for a 20-23 ft CC. I can't decide to spend between 20-30K on a Mako (Old Model), Old SeaCraft (Old Model), newer Contender, newer Regulator, newer Grady....or spend between 10-20K on a newer KenCraft, Palm Coast, Cape Horn. Is it worth it to spend more on the better quality boat? Or should I just purchase a more expensive one after a couple years after I have gained more experience. Also, should I plan on getting a 22-23 boat so I don't get the itch to upgrade after purchasing a 20 ft boat. I will be fishing both inshore and offshore. I am a pilot, so I will only be in Pensacola for 3 yrs, and will most likely end up in San Diego or Jacksonville, where I am guessing the boat will still be good for the fishing in those locations. I have fished on my father's Grady 222 Fisherman for the last 8 years so I am kind of partial to that as of now. Thank You!:notworthy::notworthy:

·
Jiggin Finatic
8,548 Posts
Look at the new Dusky. They are still made like the old Mako, and are an extremely stable boat. The Cape Horns are good as well. It really depends on how much you want to spend.

·
IT'S ALL GOOD !
1,352 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Get what you like and can afford. I think anything in the size range you are looking for should be fine in this area

·
Banned
3,674 Posts
So much depends on the type of usage that you intend. Is it going to be a family boat or a hard core fishing machine? I would hedge toward the 23 ft. range; because you are talking about the Atlantic and Pacific, plus they are just more comfortable and you will appreciate the additional space. Unless you overnight or have the family out a lot, personally, I would avoid the cuddys. They have a lot more weight and also eat up usable fishing space.

·
Registered