Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I about have myself talked into renting a yack for a few days while I’m down there on vacation at the end of the month. I have some yack and offshore experience, but I would consider myself a novice at both. I love reading about and seeing the pics of you guys going out in the gulf, and I want to give it a try. I’ll probably have some technique questions later, but I get the jist of what to do. At least what I should be trying to do. My question for now is where (sites) and how do I check on the weather to figure out when would be my best days(2-3) to do the rental? If I’m looking at a 10 day forecast for the week we’re there, what should I be looking for? Wind direction & speed? High/low pressure. What makes for a good day to go out?

·
Banned
3,674 Posts
Also try some of the NOAA reports and Wind Guru. Look at the 'Wave Period'. This is expressed in seconds. Six seconds is good. You can take larger waves if the wave period is long. (Time between wave peaks) If it is something like 3 seconds, you can expect it to be uncomfortable choppy. Consistent wind direction for more than a day or two will build a 'Swell' instead of a lot of chop. Even if the Gulf is rough, you can always spend a day in the bay or the Inter-coastal waterway ICW. Have a good time.

·
Registered
5,602 Posts
Not to pimp my self out but, if your interested in going with a guide your first day let me know. We can go over everything from reading the surf and surf forecasts, to rigging, catching bait and of course fishing! I have well over a dozen fantastic private bottom spots we can hit for monster snapper, grouper, triggers and cobia as well.

I guide out of Hobie Outbacks with turbo fins, sailing rudders and outriggers making them impossible to flip.

Doing it this way can ensure that your solo trips the rest of your stay will be more productive. Shoot me a PM or email at [email protected]

·