Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a good used 3/4 ton diesel truck. I'm new to diesels and don't want to buy a truck with a bunch of hidden issues. I've seen tons of references to having the engine bulletproofed (mostly with F250s) but have also heard it with GMC/Chevy as well. Has anyone had this done by a local shop? Any input on the need for this or how many miles an F250 or 2500 diesel could go before it would need a major overhaul like bulletproofing would be much appreciated. Who are the quality diesel mechanics around P'cola?

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,648 Posts
I bulletproofed my 6.0 after the warranty ran out on it. Went through 7 turbo's under warranty with the EGR installed. Now pushing 200K and haven't had the first issue with it since bulletproofing at around 104K. Did the studs, EGR bypass not removal because I didn't want the check engine light on, blue spring and new oil cooler. If turbo ever goes out again, going to put in a 4 inch downpipe.

·
Bearded Brotula
11,719 Posts
I had a head gasket leak and a little bit of work done by Spoolin Up at about 200k. Runs like a champ. Mine is a 6.0

·
Registered
8,887 Posts
My neighbor has his 6.0 bullet proofed and swears by it. He tows a big pile camper all over the country.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
12,777 Posts
Bullet proof is actually a brand, but has become the standard term for fixing the inherent Ford 6.0 problems. Full “bullet proofing” will cost you 6-8k if you do it all and have someone else do it. The whole cab has to be lifted off the truck to reveal the engine. If you buy a 6.0, I’d suggest you ask for paperwork of all the work.

·
Registered
3,648 Posts