Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my first shark from the beach on Friday afternoon. Caught it on a ladyfish head off the beach by the NAS Coast Guard station. Had several hookups and spit hooks but finally got one. Just one decent run then a steady pull all the way to the beach.
Can anyone confirm if this is a Blacktip or a juvenile Bull? I'm new at this so I'm not sure. My first thought was Blacktip because of the tail and 2nd dorsal fin but there are not black tips on the 1st dorsal or the pectoral fins. I'm just glad to have caught it, successfully pulled the hook and released her unharmed. Now I'm addicted.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
That is deffinalty a black tip. You can tell by the black tips on the fins. and also as surfstryker said cause of the nose. I was out at the Coast Guard Station friday night and got a nice 5 ft black tip. They are everywhere out there. Congrats on your first shark. If you would like to meet up sometime to hit up the Coast Guard Station for sharks or for just fishing send me a pm. Me and some other people from the forum go out there and fish often. Id be happy to join you.

·
Super Moderator
27,951 Posts
It is hard to tell w/ just the 1 pic.....Kinda short and stocky like a bull but ????

Great job!!!! You take him home and eat him??? That's a good size eater!!!!:thumbup:

·
Registered
352 Posts
underneath, are all the fins black tipped or white? if white its a blacktip, if black its a spinner

let me edit and be more specific, the anal fin underneath, if it was white its usually a blacktip, if its black usually a spinner. when you pulled the hook, did you get a good look at the teeth? what were the teeth like on the lower jaw, serrated or smooth?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #8