Pensacola Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a john boat and I'm setting it up for gigging. I've never done it but ut seems like a blast. Is it better to have the lights above or below the surface? Am I better off with a trolling motor or push pole? If the answer is trolling motor do I mount it on the bow or transom? I'll always have another person so either is an option. I'm not going to get a generator for now so what are the best, inexpensive, battery powered light option? I have two large green hydoglows for sword fishing and it seems like i could rig them horizontally above or below the surface. Any body ever try this? I appreciate the feed back and any other additional help!

Ben

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
Well I am new to the whole thing as well but I will let you know what I have found. I used the starfire setup for awhile those are the ones you can buy at academy for underwater use and they work okay and lasted on my batteries fine for 10 hours and that was 2 of them I also have a 24 volt bow mount troller so I have 2 batteries where I hook the lights up.

I recently purchased this 50 watt led floodlight off fleabay and it is the bomb after one outing the difference is night and day much easier to see for me, did'nt see any flounder but did mangage to get bout 30 mullet with the net. With the setup I have it holds the light out over the water facing down hardly any glare. Hope this helps.

Attachments

·
Duerwood Willis
1,748 Posts
It is your own preference. I have never used under water lights, I started with halogen lights then used HPS lights. Both light setups were 120 volts and used a generator. I just bought some LED lights for my jeep and believe I'm going to use the same on my next flounder rig. I started polling then a trolling motor. You can cover a lot more ground using a trolling motor but it also ads weight and money to the rig.

·
Registered
1,135 Posts